jookjoint.jpg

Yes. Rolling Fork.

I was out for a long farewell lunch with good friends, and 5 minutes after I got back to the office, my phone rang and there was Dr. Andy Mullins with the news that come August I will be teaching English at South Delta High School in Rolling Fork, Mississippi.

Image from the South Delta district site

OK. So then I pretty much spent the rest of the day Googling, instead of getting started on that book layout I'm supposed to be doing.

I'm still taking this in. What I know so far is that I will be one of 4 Teacher Corps first-year teachers. (1 math, 2 biology) This is MTC's first year at South Delta.

Some 2003-04 enrollment stats from the National Center for Education Statistics:

9th Grade: 126; 10th Grade: 110; 11th Grade: 53; 12th Grade: 67

There's a roughly 50% dropout rate between sophomore and junior year. All but one of the students are eligible for free (not reduced-price) lunch.

Andy Mullins said, "You asked for a small Delta town placement, and you got it." Oh did I ever.
Jook Joint in Rolling Fork

